Governance Professionals of Canada Announces and Congratulates the Winners of the 2021 Excellence in Governance Awards

Toronto, Ontario--(Newsfile Corp. - November 5, 2021) - Governance Professionals of Canada (GPC) announces the winners of the 2021 Excellence in Governance Awards (EGAs).

Cannot view this image? Visit:

EGA Logo

To view an enhanced version of this graphic, please visit:

The Awards gather the governance community and celebrate good governance across Canada.

The Excellence in Governance Awards shines a light on the important contribution that governance professionals, their Boards and their companies make in terms of best practices that build and sustain stakeholder value in Canada. The prestigious awards recognize trailblazers for their ability to create impact and innovation in the Canadian governance realm.

GPC congratulates the 2021 EGA winners, organized by category, as presented below:

  1. Board and Director Effectiveness
  • Meridian Credit Union
  1. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • HSBC Bank Canada
  1. Executive Compensation
  • BMO Financial Group
  1. Governance Office Matters
  • ATB Financial
  1. Risk Management
  • Arthritis Society
  1. Strategy
  • Ontario Power Generation
  1. Sustainability/ESG
  • Enbridge Inc.
  • TELUS Corporation
  1. Governance Professional of the Year
  • Bradley Chisholm, Chief Officer, Strategy and Governance, BCCNM
  • Jeremy Trickett, SVP, Chief Governance Officer, Canada Life and Great-West Lifeco
  1. Peter Dey Governance Achievement Award
  • Sarah Kaplan, Professor of Strategic Management, Distinguished Professor of Gender and the Economy, Fellow of the Lee-Chin Institute

Each year, GPC receives nominations that range in both breadth and diversity from Canadian organizations large and small, across all sectors and industries. The award recipients are chosen by two judging panels of seasoned and well-respected governance experts. GPC would like to thank the EGA Judges for their time, dedication, and contribution in making the annual awards possible. For more on the panel:

'In submitting nominations, the EGA shortlisted, and finalists send out a clear message to their stakeholders and to the governance community, that good governance matters to them." Lynn Beauregard, President of GPC says. "In taking home these trophies, the winners gain well-deserved recognition for their accomplishments and set examples for innovation, resilience and great governance practices.''

Sign up to GPC's official mailing list to be the first to receive details on the call for nominations for the 2022 EGAs, which will open in the spring of 2021, and the latest information on upcoming and relevant governance events:

Last but not least, our appreciation goes to our presenting sponsor Diligent, as well as to all of our event and award sponsors without whom this event would not be possible.

Cannot view this image? Visit:

The 2021 EGA report of the Judges is intended to provide insight into some of the accomplishments that have set the winners apart, and to impart the judges' rationale behind selecting this year's winning organizations.
Read Report Here!

To view an enhanced version of this graphic, please visit:

For further information:

Lynn Beauregard
President, GPC
802-21 St. Clair Avenue East, Toronto
Phone: 416-921-5449, Ext 306

To view the source version of this press release, please visit